image1

Isn’t it time we amplify our Pride?!

Why evolve: pride amplified? Why now?

Queer youth are 4 times more likely to attempt suicide than their peers and 8 times more likely when not supported by their immediate family.


Partnering and participating with evolve: pride amplified sends a bold message to queer youth that they are loved, valued, and welcome; and that we need them as part of a diverse, compassionate and culturally vibrant landscape here in Calgary!  


How do we deliver that message?  Through two days of magic, music and fundraising at Arts Commons, May 24-25, 2019. 


First, we host a free event, evolve: gala for youth including a joy filled, circus celebration by Le Cirque de la Nuit coupled with the soul, hip-hop, music and story telling genius of Too Attached.  Creating beautiful memories to last through challenging times.


Second, we host the adult version of that event, evolve: gala for you, complete with a cocktail hour meet and greet with our amazing artists, plated dinner, fundraising and a show you won't soon forget!


Both oral and documented history reveal that we are at an evolutionary point in our community, post HIV crisis, and far enough along on our human rights journey that our capacity to contribute is only on the rise.  In many respects, for the first time, we are able to financially give back, and to do so in a meaningful way for the next generation of gender and sexually diverse kids.  There are enough members of our diverse community with the means and the motivation to make a difference, AND more than enough allies in the same boat - so let’s do this!  


Advance tickets to the evolve: gala for you are only available to initiative partners, or what we call Community Evolvers.  For more information and to become a Community Evolver, please connect with any of our committee members listed below or or email partnership@calgarypride.ca


Our Charitable Partners

Calgary Pride’s charitable partners in this initiative are Calgary Queer Arts Society, Skipping Stone Foundation and the Centre for Sexuality.  Net sponsorship revenues from this initiative support queer youth programming and year round work by Calgary Pride; all funds raised at Evolve Gala for You are being split equally (in four parts) between the charitable partners and Calgary Pride; 100 per cent of all philanthropic donations made at the event go directly to our charitable partners. 

Find out more

EVENT COMMITTEE

Shone Thistle, CFRE

  Chief Experience Evolver

Calgary Pride 

VP, Development & Stakeholders Relations

Pronouns: She/Her

shone@calgarypride.ca

Linda Craig

Experience Evolver

Pronouns: She/Her

lcraig@calgarypride.ca

Carolyn Anderson, Phd, RSW

Guest Experience Evolver

Pronouns: She/Her

canderson@calgarypride.ca

Heather Shaw

  Lead Marketing Consultant
WK Creations

Pronouns: She/Her

hrshaw@calgarypride.ca

Anna Murphy

Creative Director

Calgary Pride Committee Leader

Pronouns: She/Her

amurphy@calgarypride.ca

Amy Mykes

Social Evolver

Pronouns: She/Her

amykes@calgarypride.ca

Renee Dunn

Experience Evolver

Pronouns: She/Her

rdunn@calgarypride.ca

Tracy Walker

Experience Evolver

Pronouns: She/Her

twalker@calgarypride.ca

Arif Hirani

Experience Evolver

Pronouns: He/Him

ahirani@calgarypride.ca

Michael Giardino

Social Evolver

Pronouns: He/Him

mgiardino@calgarypride.ca

Join our committee!

 We're building this gorgeous plane while we fly it and welcome your help!  If you are interested in joining our committee, please contact any one of us.